The Son meets his father

On the bus to town, I pull out of my purse this little card that I have laminated. It is from Robin Busfield’s book, “Forgiveness is the Home of Miracles:”

“When I see another who is lost and having difficulty finding their way, I have to realize that person is me and they are a projection of how I am feeling.Lately, when I see another creating pain for themselves, I am beginning to take responsibility by saying, “I am doing this to myself.” An alcoholic,bum, beggar, abuser – this is a part of my wrong mind. That person is me doing it to myself.”

In this moment, two very drunk men are entering the bus. It is early in the morning, and the driver, maybe a Muslim, looks unapprovingly on the men. The youngest does not have enough money, and the driver is looking angry and firm. I sense fear, something seems to escalate, the young man starts to loose it. I say inside to the three of them, and mean it with all my heart:

“You are Spirit, healed and whole and innocent. All is forgiven and released.” I ask H.S  for help to see all the men as innocent, knowing that I ask to see myself as the same.

One minute. The elder man pays for the younger man, and puts his arm protectively around his shoulder. And out of the blue the driver turns, look s at the younger stoned man and says: “You are a good boy.”

There is a clear shift in the atmosphere. All fear is gone. A weird and wonderful conversation starts between the young man and the driver, and then the driver tells the boy that he will take him out to dinner. He also tells him again that it is not good to drink so much so early in the morning, and asks him why he did that – and the man says”  I have lost my sweetheart. Then you’ll understand that I am sad – right?” the driver nods, and calls him a good boy, a clever boy. I t feels like the boy has got a good father. All aggression has melted off him, and the drunken trance has lifted remarkably. When he entered, he was so drunk that he could not stand.

When he leaves the bus, he and the driver shake hands, and the young man thanks him many times.

My heart is open. A new young man enters and takes the seat beside me. He turns to me and smiles a beatific smile.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 21:39:51

    I have read this several times on your blog and several times here and it just leaves me speechless, in a good way, everytime. Love the quote from Robin. I am trying to do that when I look at the news reports.

    I have copied my response in the village, yesterday, here also. This is how we get home. this is what it “looks” like.

    Reply

  2. winnie
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 04:58:48

    wow what an excellent story ! and it ends with a smile

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Please note that nothing written here is intended as medical advice. Readers who think that they need help with a physical or psychological condition are advised to seek a qualified opinion.

