seeing beauty

Todays lesson:

Above all else I want to see things differently.

I love this lessonand I mean it each time i say it. Today, after showering, looking in the mirror, I noticed the white plastic-cord of the electric toothbrush reflected behind the vapor on the mirror – and the beauty of it filled me with ecstasy. At the same time, arising was an ego- knowledge that if I allowed myself to truly experience that beauty, I would die.  Since I am still here, you know what I chose –

and still, the memory of that beauty seen with eyes of Love is still here – and I remember I knew that every need I ever had, would be extinguished if I could allow myself to live in that space of Seeing

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 00:59:32

    So many things you speak of resonate with me. I get many wordless, Oh yeah, that’s right – now I remember.., “feelings” when I read what you have written.

    Reply

  2. Kathleen Campbell
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 00:56:44

    I love that you experienced this. Last summer I was standing
    at my back door ruminating over my hard luck when I noticed
    the gravel path from my door to the back yard. I began to stare
    at each stone and marveled at how they touched one to
    the next. Thousands of small round stones all joined in touch.
    I felt like I was in a trance and suddenly there were no borders in
    the dream. Nothing separating me from everything else. It
    seemed like l was standing there for hours but it only lasted
    about 30 seconds.

    Rocks and electrical cord. The mundane made magnificent.
    Kathleen

    Reply

  3. Lenore
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 06:49:29

    Hi, Nina:

    Re: You “seeing beauty” post of Jan. 28, 2011:

    What a wonderful experience! I have never had that experience, but I am grateful for hearing of yours because the Course tells us (if I understand this correctly): “…by being able to hear the Holy Spirit in others you can learn from their experiences, and can gain from them without experiencing them directly yourself.” (T-6.I.10:5)

    Yes, the memory of that beauty will stay with you. It is a “mighty companion” that the Course’s Manual for Teachers speaks of (M-4.I.A.6:11-13). Ken Wapnick’s commentary on that passage is: “The mighty companions Jesus speaks of are symbols or thoughts…and memories of our positive experiences when we released the ego. They are like money in the bank that we never withdraw; always there when we need it. When we are therefore tempted to hold onto a grievance or judgment, certain we are right, we need to think back to those ‘mighty companions’—the memories of how good it felt when we let go of attack thoughts.” (“Journey Through the Manual for Teachers,” by Kenneth Wapnick, p.37)

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

    Gratefully, Lenore
    *************

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Please note that nothing written here is intended as medical advice. Readers who think that they need help with a physical or psychological condition are advised to seek a qualified opinion.

