a non-temporal decision

Lately, the old oven I inherited from my father would not work any longer. As I am used to see objects and situations as symbols, and really enjoy it, I see that the oven is for me a symbol for digestion and transformation – and that I inherited that from my material father means to me that I have bought his interpretations of what belongs to HIM and I am one of those “objects” or “souls.”

So it felt good when the oven died on me, and I realized that this would be the first oven i would buy in this life on my own – not chosen by any man.

I went to the shop and found a Gorenje-stove with old fashioned iron-plates – not the new ceramic ones that will break if you drop something on them. It felt really good.

At the day the new stove should arrive, I had to pull the electric plug out of the socket before they came.It turned out that my genius technical husband had managed to make a hole in the cupboard where the socket was. How he had managed to get that plug in to that socket, was an enigma: the hole was far to little.  I think he must have cut the cord to the plug and repaired it afterwards – something I do not want to do:-)

But I had a problem.

I called the stove-store, and they told me that the day for delivery had changed – so I had some days to ponder this. I did not fall into disaster mode more than few seconds – and then “compass-saw” fell into the brain. I went to an old helpful neighbor  and borrowed his saw.

I pulled out the old stove, and cleaned meticulously the dirt behind it. Then I used the saw. It was very hard wood. At last I got a hole – but the plug would not pass through it.

I heard distinctly I voice in me who said: “I will manage this.” In the same second, the plug was out, as easy as melted butter. The hole had not changed. I tried to put it back in again – impossible: the hole was too small.

So I sat there and realized that that voice, or decision, had nothing to do at all with an ego decision. It was just a clear decision: I will manage this.

This was the mind outside time and space.

As soon as I realized that, the plug went in and out. Nothing material had changed at all.

Neat!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zafu
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 18:09:53

    happy ‘chills’ when I read this … “I will manage this.” how lovely … how true

    love and blessings to you nina …

    Reply

  2. Mona Gustafson Affinito
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 18:19:04

    I absolutely love this story! Beautifully realized and told.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Please note that nothing written here is intended as medical advice. Readers who think that they need help with a physical or psychological condition are advised to seek a qualified opinion.

