Ordinary, but very unusual

The belief in a separate self is waning.

Yesterday I had an old neighbor and friend over for dinner. The conversation happened without any usual reactions from me: no irritations and no judgments of any kind – neither of her nor me. No inner dialog commenting – there was just a quiet radiant alive space, where our two voices and beings danced in a completely balanced rhythm. No one dominated.

Then we saw the DVD “Extremely loud and incredible close”  and my neighbor had a strong reaction to it: “This is not right. Why should I see such a sad story?” And my response was so different from the old usual one: I felt no guilt, just a loving willingness to hear reactions and feelings. No need to defend my choice for film, no need to be right – all that was simply absent.

In the night there was a new level of stone-hard tensions inside the torso – like my skeleton was a “me” holding tremendous tensions of all that was not permitted to exist/be seen: the humanity’s collective decision to “not see and not care.” I asked it  if it wanted to leave, and there was a yes AND a no. The yes allowed some of the  stonehardedness to melt and   moving out of the system.

I still love to tell stories – but it truly seems that I am not stuck in them any longer

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 14:51:08

    Of course we still tell stories because a part of us still believes the story. We tell stories until we no longer tell stories. I love you and your stories:)

    Love,

    Barbara

    Reply

  2. Mona Gustafson Affinito
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 16:13:14

    Lovely experience! Uplifting news. Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Please note that nothing written here is intended as medical advice. Readers who think that they need help with a physical or psychological condition are advised to seek a qualified opinion.

