The green stuff

I am posting this with kind permission from Susan Ayres:

“A couple of weeks ago I came across this clip from Comedy Bang Bang (a tv show based on a podcast). The content of the clip is mildly funny but what really struck me was the visuals. The characters, objects, background, etc. are all in green for later cgi. It’s a cooking scene, so all the ingredients, tools, appliances, finished product even what the cooks are wearing can be digitally added later.

I often use the analogy of acting against a green screen to help me disassociate what i “see” out there from what i’m feeling. To help me understand “I am not upset for the reason i think i am.” I imagine saying my lines and emoting to a green screen with the expectation that the director will add the scary monster or other actors later. But at that moment there’s nothing there–just me reacting to nothing. Then i can look at my reactions, emotions and do my forgiveness work.

This clip takes it even further. Now most of the actors are dressed in green-or part of the “green screen” or part of “nothing.” It’s really helping me to understand that my body too is part of the dream, the projection of the mind.

Susan”

Leave a Reply

Please note that nothing written here is intended as medical advice. Readers who think that they need help with a physical or psychological condition are advised to seek a qualified opinion.

