please take these offerings

Shining words from my dear friend Miriam Louisa Simmons

this unlit light

They often sneak up on me at this time of the year – a gaggle of words-wanting-shared. Yes, it’s birthday time – not a blog birthday, but another tick in the annual count for she-who-scribbles while her spacecraft steers itself around the sun…

Birthdays are a good time to reflect on one’s blessings, and to offer gratitude to our friends for their kindness and thoughtfulness. I always begin my birthday with a gesture of thanks to my mother, who not only gave me the miraculous opportunity for life, but also fostered, nourished and inspired the flourishing of that life in every way possible.

Now in my eighth decade, and delighting in a life of sweetness and contentment, I feel to share some of the observations that have delivered me to this joy. It’s the best I can offer; may your hands and heart be able to receive.

Image source - https://www.etsy.com/au/shop/BoneStructure/

Life hurts.
But 

View original post 306 more words

Leave a Reply

Please note that nothing written here is intended as medical advice. Readers who think that they need help with a physical or psychological condition are advised to seek a qualified opinion.

