The Mystic Rose

A couple of days ago, a video of Space Clearing from Denise Linn came to me. I did a lot of that  long time ago and loved it – and then it fell away. In the video she talked about The Rose as a symbol  for clearing, cleansing and protection, and she invited us to place it between us and someone we had trouble with – and also around us and inside us, as protection.

A Course in Miracles tells me I need no protection – the I that I truly am, IS this Rose – and also, as this old fear energy still is so prevalent in my nervous system, I wanted to place this Rose there and see what happened.

Complete utter beauty happened. I remembered all the times where I have known that the Rose is sacred. There is a psalm that etched itself in my heart when I was a child –

Let the world just take everything from me  Let the thorns tear and rip. Let my heart just faint and burst , my rose I never can lose. Hans Adolph Brorson, 1732.

So yesterday morning I stood on the bus stop,waiting – and looked down. Right in front of my feet lay this little rosy wonder, as a reminder:

pink markerYes, it is this small – it is one of those little self-adhesive plastic markers you place on pages to mark them – and it beamed to me and said “pick me up! Remember The Rose!”

Thank you, Blue –  my Self ! I had to laugh – I have a bunch of those markers, but until now, none in pink:)

Today I found Mara Freeman’s page – and  I smile while writing this, since I somehow know her deep in my heart and will contact her again in this life. Writing this makes my heart expand and the smile just grows:)

This is a piece from Mara’s beautiful page:

One of the most beautiful and significant symbols of the Western Mysteries is the Rose.  The Rose and the Grail share many spiritual resonances. The word ‘chalice’ comes from the Latin word, calyx, which means cup, and is the name given to the cup-like sepals of a flower which support the petals. Both these symbols suggest the receptive vessel of the soul, opening to receive the in-pouring of Divine influence. Indeed the symbolism of the Rose is even more complex than the Grail, given the beauty of its form, the number and arrangement of the petals with their velvety texture, the intoxicating perfume and, deep inside, the hidden golden heart enfolded within the petals, concealing the Mystery of the Centre. A 12th century Persian poet wrote, “Mystery glows in the rose bed, the secret is hidden in the rose.” Not surprisingly, the rose has long been recognized as the western equivalent of the eastern lotus as a symbol of the unfolding of higher consciousness.

In medieval Europe, the Rose as a symbol of union with the divine may have been influenced by Arabian and Persian teachings from the time when Spain was an Islamic country. The Sufi teacher, Hazrat Inayat Khan writes:

Just as the rose consists of many petals held together, so the person who attains to the unfoldment of the soul begins to show many different qualities. The qualities emit fragrance in the form of a spiritual personality. The rose  has a beautiful structure, and the personality which proves the unfoldment  of the soul has also a fine structure, in manner, in dealing with others,  in speech, in action. The atmosphere of a spiritual being pervades the air like the perfume of a rose. 

 

Leave a Reply

Please note that nothing written here is intended as medical advice. Readers who think that they need help with a physical or psychological condition are advised to seek a qualified opinion.

